Search
Topics
Home  ·  Feedback  ·  Recommend Site  ·  Search  ·  Stories Archive  ·  Surveys  ·  Topics  
DID LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS PLAY FAVORITES?
Posted on Friday, April 12 @ 09:22:00 CDT by van

News and Views The most recent candidates presentation on Lincoln's Channel 5 sponsored by the League of Women Voters just didn't pass my smell test! Did league members engage in covert activities as did some of the world Olympics judges.

I believe there is a good possibility the League of Women Voters may have been involved in stacking the deck in favor of Deb Schorr, candidate for the Lancaster County Board of Commissioners, Third District. Deb is a bright and colorful lady, there's no doubt about that, but her responses to the three questions posed by KFOR radio personality Dale Johnson during the candidate forum, were clearly memorized and well rehearsed.

Reliable sources have informed me that Mrs. Schorr's supporters, including her attorney husband Mark, a law partner with former Congressman/Governor Charles Thone have, as you might expect lawyers to do, been scripting and rehearsing her responses to media reporters. Frankly, I think she would do much better by being extemporaneous in her responses. While Deb's qualifications are not even close to those of her opponent Paul Zoz, her personal bearing, charm and smile, will provide her with what it takes to run a great race, she doesn't need to fudge.

I believe the League of Women Voters, in the interest of giving weighted support to one or more female candidates, handed out the questions each would be asked "on camera", well before the evening of the television interviews on Channel 5.

Most of us wanted to believe the judging at the Olympics was fair and uncorrupt, likewise, most want to believe the League of Women Voters is fair and honest in its dealings with all candidates, regardless of gender. The league has heretofore provided a great service to the voters of our area by sponsoring the "Voters' Guide" in the local newspaper. In each of those instances, the candidates received questionnaires to be completed and returned. Later the responses were published, usually the Sunday before each election. It's a shame we couldn't have kept it that way.

We know what went on in Salt Lake City a few months ago. Now we must wonder what when on in Lincoln a few day ago.

VansOpinion
Home
Feedback
Recommend Site
Search
Stories Archive
Surveys
Topics
About Van
Van's Links
Downloads

Search



Old Articles
Thursday, June 18
· PASTORS GET LITTLE SUPPORT FROM THE LUTHERAN CHURCH MISSOURI SYNOD
Friday, November 28
· PROCLAMATIONS OF THANKSGIVING BY PRESIDENT ABRAHAM LINCOLN
Sunday, May 11
· IT'S A GOOD TIME TO SAY, "I LOVE YOU MOM"
Saturday, January 26
· ONE NATION UNDER GOD - LAUS DEO
Saturday, December 29
· KIDS WHO SURVIVED THE 1930's 40's, 50's, 60's AND 70's
Saturday, December 15
· A MIDDLE EAST IMPERATIVE
Friday, December 14
· A DAY WITHOUT AN ILLEGAL IMMIGRANT
Wednesday, December 12
· THE SECRET SERVICE VIEWS OF PAST PRESIDENTS
Friday, November 23
· NOW THANK WE ALL OUR GOD
Sunday, September 09
· GOD DOES INDEED ANSWERS PRAYER
Monday, July 16
· CONSCIENCE AND THE CRAFT
· JESUS NEVER SAID "STOP AT THE LODGE ROOM DOOR"
Monday, April 23
· NEVER BRING PLANTS INTO THE HOUSE
Saturday, March 31
· WILL LINCOLN AREA LUTHERANS BECOME APRIL FOOLED
Thursday, June 01
· REV. RUSSELL SOMMERFELD SHOULD STEP DOWN
Thursday, March 30
· KATHY TAYLOR WILL BE THE NEXT MAYOR OF TULSA
Wednesday, March 29
· MORAL POVERTY COST BLACKS IN NEW ORLEANS
Friday, December 23
· HAVE A SAFE AND MERRY CHRISTMAS
Sunday, November 20
· IT'S A GOOD TIME FOR ME TO BE THANKFUL
Tuesday, November 01
· OUR POLITICAL PARTIES NEED A FEW WITH MARTIN LUTHER'S SPIRIT
Thursday, October 27
· SETTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT
Thursday, October 13
· HELP WANTED - MAYOR OF TULSA, OKLAHOMA
Thursday, October 06
· CONGRESS SHOULD VOTE NO ON A MEGA-REFINERY AT CUSHING, OKLAHOMA
Wednesday, October 05
· WHY I CONTINUE TO WORK TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE
Monday, September 26
· LINCOLN LUTHERAN HIGH SCHOOL OFFICIALS COVER-UP SCANDAL
Sunday, September 25
· IT'S NOW TIME TO DO A BIT OF FINGER POINTING
· A LETTER FROM A VERY UPSET MISSISSIPPI DOCTOR
Tuesday, September 20
· RELIGIOUS HUMOR THAT'S NON-DENOMINATIONAL
· COUNCIL SHOULD SAY NO TO ANOTHER MULTI-PLEX
Monday, September 19
· STOP BEATING AROUND THE BUSH

Older Articles



Content copyright © 2018 Van Valkenburg & Associates, Inc.
Admin - Stats

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.